What to Expect After a Second DUII Offense
When you drive while impaired, you’re taking major risks. Statistics show that people drive drunk nearly 300,000 times daily, but fewer than 4,000 of these individuals are arrested. If you continue to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or other intoxicants, it’s likely that you’ll eventually get caught by law enforcement. Unfortunately, certain drivers find themselves facing this criminal allegation multiple times throughout their lives. In this post, you’ll learn what to expect from the aftermath of a second DUII charge.
DUII Laws in Oregon
It’s important to note that a DUII allegation doesn’t have to do with only alcohol. You can also receive this criminal allegation if you’re operating a vehicle while under the influence of marijuana, inhalants, or controlled substances. In Oregon, you’re also prohibited from driving a motor vehicle while having a .08% or higher blood alcohol concentration. Commercial vehicle drivers receive a DUII charge if they have a .04% BAC or higher.
After being charged with your second DUII offense, you’ll need to complete a series of actions. It’s understandable to wonder what to expect after receiving this criminal charge. With that in mind, here are three things to expect after receiving your second DUII charge.
Attending Court Mandated Classes
After receiving a second DUII charge, you’re required to attend court mandated classes. The reason for your conviction determines the type of classes you’ll need to attend. Therefore, this process begins by completing a screening assessment. After completing this assessment, you’ll be scheduled to enter treatment courses. The duration of your courses will vary. However, you’ll need to complete a minimum of four weeks of classes, logging in 12 to 20 hours of attendance.
The Status of Your Driving Privileges
If you’ve been convicted of a second DUII offense, you’re going to have your driver’s license suspended. This applies to everyone convicted of this serious criminal allegation. In Oregon, those receiving a second DUII conviction with a period of five years will have their licenses suspended for three years. If you’re dealing with a third DUII felony conviction, you’ll likely have your driving privileges suspended indefinitely.
Serving Jail Times and Paying Fines
Statistics show that the average drunk driver will operate their vehicle under the influence 80 times before their first arrest. Therefore, it’s understandable to wonder about how much jail time and fines you’ll have to deal with after facing your second DUII conviction.
Understandably, no one wants to think about paying hefty fines or spending their time in jail after facing criminal allegations. Fortunately, receiving a second DUII charge is only a misdemeanor offense. In most cases, misdemeanors involve serving less jail time and paying fewer fines than those dealing with felony offenses.
Second time DUII offenders face a minimum of 48 hours or a maximum of one year’s worth of jail time. This is all based on the judge’s sentence which makes it worthwhile to have a lawyer on your side during this process. The fine amounts you’ll pay vary from $1,500 to $6,250. However, offenders with blood alcohol concentrations higher than 0.15% must pay a minimum fine of at least $2,000. Matters become worse if you were charged with this offense while younger passengers were in your vehicle. If there were minors traveling in your car, you could face fines as high as $10,000.
In conclusion, it’s important to understand what could happen after a second DUII conviction. Considering the seriousness of this situation, it’s wise to contact a DUII attorney. Having a criminal defense lawyer on your side doesn’t guarantee that you’ll win your case. However, these lawyers will do everything possible to help ensure you receive a fair trial. In addition, a DUII lawyer provides valuable assistance while you’re dealing with such a stressful situation.