How to File for DUI Expungement

How to File for DUI Expungement

Disclaimer: The website may collect compensation for links, mentions and/or videos that are placed in the content.

Disclosure: All content is intended for general information purposes only. We are not professionals in any specialized field. Please consult an expert before making any decisions involving your health, finances, or general well being.

Dui defense lawyer

Getting a DUI can be stressful and overwhelming, especially considering the consequences it comes with. After you get a DUI, your car insurance premiums will rise, and you may have trouble finding a job or apartment. If you recently got convicted of a DUI, the best thing you can do is ask your DUI attorney about expungement options. Expungement is possible in most states and provides you with a lot of DUI help.

First, check to see if you qualify for expungement. Certain states, such as New York at Nevada, don’t allow for full expungement, but they often have other options such as sealing your conviction. For more information, ask your DUI defense attorney.

Most states that allow DUI expungement will not accept it until a certain amount of time has passed. For example, in Arkansas, you can apply five years after your sentence is completed, but in New Hampshire, you have to wait ten years after your conviction date. Laws differ from state to state, so find out how long your waiting period will be.

Another requirement of DUI expungement is having no more alcohol related incidents since the conviction. This is pretty self-explanatory, but if you have another conviction after the first and you try to get it expunged, you’ll definitely be rejected.

Another important part of the expungement process is finding a lawyer. You can find one that specializes in expungements by visiting the bar association website of your state, which should have a referral program. This isn’t entirely necessary in all states, but in most cases, it will provide a better outcome.

The next steps of the process include getting a copy of your criminal records and filling out the expungement form. This is something your lawyer can help you with if you have one. This may be a long and tedious process, but it’s well worth it if your application gets accepted. You’ll have to make sure to attach all necessary documents and pay the fee, which usually ranges from $100-$200. After that, you’ll have to wait to hear the results, which can usually take 30-60 days to receive.

As you can see, getting a DUI isn’t the end of the world. If you’re interested in seeking expungement or getting other DUI help, talk to a DUI defense attorney.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email