Does the New York Lemon Law Apply to You?

Does the New York Lemon Law Apply to You?

Disclaimer: The website may collect compensation for links, mentions and/or videos that are placed in the content.

Disclosure: All content is intended for general information purposes only. We are not professionals in any specialized field. Please consult an expert before making any decisions involving your health, finances, or general well being.

New york state used car lemon law

Have you ever purchased a used vehicle and soon after you drove it off the lot, it broke down? Perhaps you took it back to the dealer, only to have the car dealer say they could not fix it or that the warranty does not cover the problem. Laws of new york state are in place to protect people who buy used cars from car dealers who have these kinds of problems. If it were not for the New York State law that protects citizens when they buy a car, only to have it break down on them as soon as they buy it, car dealers could really take advantage of unsuspecting customers.

What would you do if you were stuck with a car you just bought and then had to turn around and spend thousands of dollars more to have it fixed or repaired? You would not be very happy. You would feel ripped off and so frustrated. It is a good thing there are New York State laws protecting consumers today.

You see, many consumers in the past have had just these kinds of problems, so the state legislature did something about it. They passed the New York State lemon laws. When you buy a car and it keeps breaking down on you, you have a lemon on your hands. There has to be some recourse and legal protection. This is the sole purpose for the NY State laws. Unfortunately, expecting car dealers to do the right thing without the New York State lemon law is not possible. The New York State law regarding used cars provides three levels of protection. These levels of protection are as follows.

First, consumers who buy used cars with a minimum of 18,001 miles up to 36,000, have lemon law protection for 4,000 miles or 90 days, whichever comes first. Second, consumers are protected for 60 days or 3,000 miles, if the car they just bought has between 36,001 miles to 79,999 miles. Third, you have lemon law protection if you buy a car that has 80,000 to 100,000 miles, for 30 days or 1,000 miles. More information on the New York State lemon laws is available online. If you need legal representation to enforce your rights under the lemon laws of New York state, talk to a qualified attorney that is familiar with the New York State law that protects used car buyers today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email