The Consequences of OVI 3 Things You Should Know About Ohio State Laws
Being charged with driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious situation with serious consequences. If you’ve been charged with driving under the influence — or operating a vehicle under the influence (OVI) as Ohio’s state DUI laws call it — you’re going to need to get in touch with one of your area’s criminal defense firms, because you’re going to need to find a good lawyer. Here’s why.
A person’s first DUI offense in Ohio usually requires them to pay a fine that can range between $250 and $1,000, plus a license reinstatement fee of $450. On a second offense, the fines range between $350 to $1,500. The third charge ranges between $350 and $1,500, and any charge after that ranges between $800 and $10,000.
Your first DUI offense might result in jail time that can range between three to six months, and it only escalates from there. The possible jail time for a second offense ranges between 10 days to a full year. The third ranges between 30 days and a year; the fourth between 60 days — two months’ time — to a full year.
That’s right. You won’t only face heavy fines and jail time if you’re convicted of DUI or OVI. In Ohio, a DUI offense can result in a license suspension of anywhere between six months to a staggering three years. Not only that, but after your third and fourth OVI, you’ll be required to have an interlock ignition device installed on your car.
Criminal defense firms can help your story be heard and work with you towards the best possible outcome. You don’t want to face a DUI or OVI charge alone. Hire a criminal defense attorney, otherwise you may be facing some serious consequences.
If you have any questions, feel free to share in the comments.